Playoff Pools: Let the Madness Begin!

Oh, what a time to be a hockey fan. The first week of the playoffs is almost too much to handle. Two or three super intense games every single night. Hell yeah, son! And what always makes sports more exciting? Gambling, of course! 

This year, we had an even ten entries. A little lower of a turnout than we usually have, but still a good number. The tension before a draft is awesome. I could only imagine what a head scout feels before a real draft. Those guys have their jobs on the line, not just bragging rights. A few beers and some small talk/physiological warfare just amps up the electricity. The numbers were ready, the draws made. I pick…..9th. D’oh! At least my second round pick will be high~

First round stuck to the script most people would think. Penguins and Blackhawks dominate the first half of the round. Crosby 1, Toews, Kane 2-3, and Neal, Malkin 4-5. Getzlaf went 6. Then, Nash goes 7. Okay, I’m rattled. NYR was one of my picks heading in. I thought I would have a pretty good shot at Nash, but no go. Kopitar goes 8, and now, I’m on the clock. Keep it together, man! I have no idea were I got the idea to go with Datsyuk, but I take him at 9. Ovechkin and Backstrom go 10-11 and I seal my fate with cheering for the Wings with Zetterburg at 12. Not the start I had envisioned, but the board has a funny way of shaking out. I ended up with 4 Red Wings, 4 Rangers and 2 Islanders. The Senator-Bruins game was not over when we made our picks, so I didn’t know if NYI played Pitt or Bos, but Tavares and Moulson should get points win or lose their first round series. Det has a good shot at knocking off Ana and NYR look a lot like the Kings of last year. I like my odds.

Every team had a player picked. Some a few more than others, might be an understatement….

Pittsburgh-12

Chicago/New York-9

Boston/Montreal/Vancouver-8

Anaheim-7

San Jose/Detroit/Washington-6

Toronto/Minnesota-4

St. Louis/New York Islanders-2

Ottawa-1

The next few weeks are going to be great. My wife is already rolling her eyes every time the playoff commercials come on. Beer sale look to increase by about 30-40%. Good luck boys…

 

 

Leave a Reply

